Skip to content

From Pencil to Pendant

February 27, 2014

Hello and I hope you’ve been keeping yourselves cosy and dry in all this horrible rain 😦

Luckily for me, being stuck inside means more work gets done!

I’ve been taking advantage of the quiet time before Easter to look into new techniques and processes. Hopefully my quest to replace the Shrink Plastic I use for my cut out designs with a better material is finally getting somewhere, but it’s not as easy as I had hoped.  I’ve spent weeks researching different technical processes, but there just aren’t many companies out there willing or able to work with small creative businesses.  The quest continues!

Another change I’m making is replacing my wooden tile jewellery with resin filled square pendants.  They will be a similar size, but higher quality product, and I think an exciting addition to my range.  Pics to come soon!

As well as these developments, I’ve been working on some new designs for my Porcelain Cameo pendants,  and thought I’d put a few pics up of the process from sketchbook to finished product…

british bird cameos 1

First I spend some time on the drawings, before scanning them and digitally composing the full image – also doing some colour planning here….

…I’m afraid I don’t have any pictures to hand of the watercolour painting stage, but that comes next…

british bird cameos 2

…Followed by more digital finishing, before printing the final designs onto decal paper and transferring them to the plain cameos.  Lastly they are varnished and fixed into their vintage style settings – et Voila!  Porcelain Cameo pendants!

Well, that’s all for now.  It’s nearing the end of the day, there’s more research to be done, and I’m about ready for another cup of tea 🙂

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

