Skip to content

Pick of the Best

May 20, 2013

I said I’d be back with a selection of my favourites from Pulse, and here I am….

There were so many amazing designers, makers and businesses that it’s hard to choose, and I didn’t even manage to get round much more than the Launchpad section – it was just such a big show!

One of the things I love about these shows is finding designers and makers who I can make a note of, and then come back to when I have a gift to buy. I think it’s so much nicer to find unusual presents in this way, especially as it also helps support those small businesses who really put their hearts and souls into what they create. You know that what you are paying for, as well as the product, is the time, thought and talent poured into it’s creation.

So here we go, I hope you like my little round up…Starting with my two lovely neighbours:

Sabina Savage

Sabina Savage

Tenali

Tenali

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then the rest in pictures….you can follow the links to their sites in the text below.

pick of pulse exhibitors

I loved the tactile element and the feeling that some real ‘making’ had gone into Lara Sparks Embroidery – for want of a better phrase! Yas-Ming Ceramics just appeal to my quirky side, and I love the minimal edge, so that whilst they are crazy, they are also understated and very cool. Jorja Wilkinson Design I saw a couple of years ago at Top Drawer/Home, and I think her patterns are so clever and just a bit different from a lot of what is around. Red Brick were just behind my stand, and had some amazing scarves with really fun, clever patterns and illustrations; I guess they appeal to my narrative side with cats hiding in bushes and seaguls attacking tourists! Then the one i really really want (I have blogged about them before!…) Betty Brice with their chic, understated bags and purses that you just know will go on to become your all time favourite :-). And last but not least, Thornback & Peel, who you’ve probably seen before, with their beautiful vintage feel English fabrics and designs.

And if you like the idea of shopping more with creative companies like these, then I offer you a challenge!…

Start a pinboard/folder on your computer/pinterest board/file in your bookcase of all those business cards, links, postcards, recommendations or little shops you come across, so that when your Sister in Law’s Birthday comes up and Christmas comes around again you have a treasure trove of sources from which to do your shopping, rather than panic buying from the high street the day before!

Good luck 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

