Skip to content

Oxford Handmademakers Market

September 17, 2012

Well good morning on this fine Monday, and I hope you all had a relaxing weekend…I have to say I didn’t, although that’s not to say it wasn’t enjoyable!

myBearHands spent the weekend working hard in Oxford, and I just wanted to say thank you to the Handmademakers team for organizing their wonderful market in Castle Quarter.

After falling out of bed and into a taxi at 4.30am on Saturday morning, I watched the sun rise on the train from Bristol, and arrived in Oxford to set up just after 7.30am. Thankfully it was lovely and sunny all day, and stayed dry on Sunday too, so there were plenty of people milling around…good news for me as I had loads of new designs on offer for the first time EVER!

It’s always a bit nerve racking when you take things out for their ‘debut’, so it was really encouraging to get some good feedback on them, and to make a few sales πŸ™‚

The other great thing about events like these is meeting so many lovely creative folk….here are my neighbours Mr Phillip Jones – illustrator extraordinaire, and sharing a stall – designer whizz sisters Kim and Sam Osborne! A pleasure to meet them both, and thanks to Sam and Kim for letting me borrow their chair for a much needed rest on Sunday afternoon!

And lastly but definitely not least, a particular favourite of mine – these beautifully made leather bags and purses from Betty Brice. I love the smell of leather, and as well as being super soft, the simple designs were timeless…I’ve got my eye on one of their small red zip purses!…(yes I already have a purse, but as I pointed out to my lovely boyfriend who accompanied me for the trip, it would be just the motivation I need to downsize – I have issues with hoarding small change, receipts and cards I never use).

Well, I shall leave you to get on with your week, I’ve certainly got plenty to be doing before next weekend when my things will be on sale at the Bazaar Inspirations tent at Brisfest!

Until then πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabs Cadle permalink
    September 18, 2012 11:32 am

    I fell in love with all your work on Sunday in Oxford. My sister bought the owl necklace for my birthday. I found it sooooo hard to choose! I am planning on buying more from you for sure!! Beautiful work. πŸ™‚

    • September 19, 2012 8:56 am

      Ah thank you, that’s very sweet…i remember the deliberations! I hope Mr Owl enjoys his new home πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

