Skip to content

The Contemporary Craft Festival

June 27, 2012

Phew! Finally time to sit down and actually reflect on my wonderful weekend at The Contemporary Craft Festival in Bovey Tracey…the weekend before last!

It was the first big show I’ve done so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, but even though the weather Gods were definitely NOT smiling on us (I shouldn’t feel too bad, I had a bed – there were people camping!), I had an absolutely brilliant weekend and learned a lot.

This is my space, plus one of my little helpers….and how it all looked when we’d finished. Hurrah!

The show was really well attended, even though customers had to queue in the rain to get it, it was really well publicised and the people running it were lovely. But most importantly, the standard of work was so high – there were some amazing things there! I feel truly honoured to have been a part of it.

Sadly I was a tad unorganized, and wasn’t exactly as prepared as I could have been (up every night till 1am for the two weeks running up to it!) but that is something I will learn from and remember next time. Once I got there, with a little (lot of) help from my lovely and supportive parents who live nearby and have a car, I got everything together and all ran smoothly.

But it’s easy to see the finished product and composed crafter at their stall and have no idea of the chaos that can precede it! So I thought I’d show you a few pics of my studio in the run up to the show….I say studio…it expanded to fill the living room and temporarily empty bedroom too. Yes, they are our sofas. No, no-one could use them for at least a week. Eeek!

Since the show I have been following up a number of contacts I made, so I will be posting again very soon with news of myBearHands next adventures 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

