Skip to content

New stockists…BearHands ventures out of Bristol!

April 13, 2012

Well, it’s been a busy Easter, what with my craft stall last Saturday and now some new stockists to provide for!

The Christmas steps was a delight as always, although the threat of rain through the day did put a slight dampener on things (pun TOTALLY intended there ;-)). But us crafty folk are nothing if not persistent, and no-one deserted their pitches, so a lovely day was had by all in the end.

After packing up I went back to my families place in deepest Devon for a couple of days over Easter, and it was great to take some time out – country walks and chocolate are good for the soul! While there I took the opportunity to show my jewellery to a few places in nearby Exeter and Tiverton, and am delighted to report that Lantic Gallery in Tiverton, will shortly by stocking my wares πŸ™‚

I also ventured Eastwards earlier in the year, to Brighton, where I also popped into a few lovely little shops with my things, so if you’re a Brighton resident, you will now be able to find my things in Posh Totty Designs as well!

Keep your eyes peeled Exeter folk…I am also following up a few leads there, so watch this space!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 8:55 am

    Well done for persevering through rain and chocolate. How did you find walking into shops and speaking to buyers? Any highlights? Thank you for sharing!

    • April 30, 2012 12:39 pm

      Hi Marion, glad you enjoyed my post!

      Walking into shops to promote yourself is always a little daunting, and I know some people really struggle with it – I was certainly pretty nervous the first time! But the thing I have found, usually, is that people are remarkably open to seeing new work, and even if they can’t stock it themselves (wrong customer type/price bracket etc) are often very helpful with advice, and can point you in the direction of other shops. So I guess the highlight was people’s friendly attitude – which happily seems to be typical of the people involved in creative work.

      The main thing is to remember that the worst thing that can happen is they say ‘no’, in which case, thank them for their time gracefully, and try somewhere else. It’s no judgement on you as a person, just that your product is not right for their customers – and there’s no way that your things will be right for every shop! Just try somewhere else with a smile, and often it turns out to be the last shop you try is the right one – so never give up.

  2. April 30, 2012 1:34 pm

    I could not agree more to all this wisdom Amy! It’s so nice to hear it from a creative though. I do a lot of this sort of work for illustrators and designers. You might find that this blog post echoes a lot of what you have described: http://www.mycakefinancialmanagement.co.uk/blog/.
    Happy reading, writing, selling, creating!
    Marion

Leave a Reply

