Skip to content

New Porcelain Pendants and getting down to Business!

April 2, 2012

Hello! It’s been a hectic time lately at BearHands, with Spring markets, working in the Charlie Boots shop in Bath, starting up my new etsy shop, and keeping everything up with my other stockists…phew! But no rest for the wicked as they say, or the…er…crafter!

I am also currently in the middle of a business module at Uni this term. And it’s proving a bit of an eye opener; pushing me to take an honest look at my business and the accompanying figures, not something I’m particularly fond of, as I think a lot of creative people feel. It’s been educational, often a bit worrying, but ultimately refreshing to get started with a clearer business plan and direction.

Whilst it would be lovely to breeze along, making things and occasionally venturing to a craft fair when the sun shows his face, that’s not, unfortunately, how things work. The reality is, that to run a business from making things, we have to sell them; and make a profit to boot. Which means ABSOLUTELY NOT underselling yourself….something most of us are guilty of (myself included), especially at the start of a creative career. Remember that just because you are selling things, if they’re not making a profit, in BUSINESS TERMS it’s not a success. Fine if you only want to cover your costs, not fine if you want it to be your career.

Talking of making things, and after many weeks (possibly even months!) my new pendant line is finally out there in the shops and online πŸ™‚ Featuring my illustrations, transferred onto pure white porcelain cameos measuring 40 x 30cm, they have simple, good quality antique bronze effect settings and a lovely long 50cm chain, all lead and nickel free.

Currently you can snap them up from my etsy shop, Dutty Girl, Charlie Boots and Alice’s Secret Emporium (BS8), see my shopping page for details….and fingers crossed it wont be too long before you’ll find them elsewhere too!

Alternatively, you could come and see me in person this Easter Saturday at the Christmas Steps Easter Market – It promises to be a wonderful day with loads of other beautiful stalls, delicious food (not to mention the cider shop!) and even an EASTER EGG HUNT!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 7:48 am

    well said, sally.
    same here. sometimes it is not easy to make a business, especially when I am selling works to my friends. then I feel even more guilty for charging the real price…i guess you are familiar with this problem!
    good luck!

  2. April 15, 2012 5:47 pm

    Absolutely love these (and the baggy bear on the masthead too!)

Leave a Reply

