Skip to content

activity in the BearHands camp

October 31, 2011

so Christmas is fully under way here at BearHands HQ, endless packages of materials and parts are arriving in the post, and a veritable production line of jewellery and printing is on the go. its all very exciting, but also a bit scary as deadlines are fast approaching, and as always I have too much to do and too little time. anyway, i thought i would share a little of the excitement with a few pics of what i’ve been up to…firstly i ordered myself a custom stamp with my logo and a message to use on my packaging…here it is in action!

and of course if you have a stamp to stamp your goodies, you need some goodies to stamp 😉 this is my new favorite discovery – shrink plastic. some people remember this as ‘shrinky dinks’, and American craft phenomenon a while ago, but if you don’t, it is basically a sheet of plastic ‘paper’ which you print on with your home printer, then cut out your image, pop it in the oven for a minute or two, and out they come as little plastic charms…amazing! this is a prototype of one of my designs, and there will be lots more available from my stalls and shop this Christmas. This one is a necklace, with the chains fastening on either tip of his wing.

lastly (for the moment) i did a nice big print run of my ‘king bear’ print, who you might remember from last year, and he will be available this Christmas too, along with other designs.

well time to get back to the crafting table, and i will keep you updated of all my endeavors along the way. have a good week 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 6:56 pm

    Hi there and wow, I love your artwork, and the range of products you make with it. I’ve been needing to order a stamp for a few weeks now, yours looks like it’s spot on – could I ask which company you used for it?

    🙂 Alison

    • November 1, 2011 11:20 am

      Hi Alison, thanks for your lovely comments. I am, like you, trying to make a go of ‘making things for a living’, which as you say has it’s ups and downs! The stamp is from ‘The English Stamp Company’, they were pretty good value compared to other companies I found, and delivered really fast, about 2 or 3 days I think. The stamp I ordered came without a handle, so the acrylic handle you see in the picture I added myself (it was literally just the thin rubber layer which arrived). You can order them with a wooden handle, but then you can’t see where the stamp meets the paper. I think they sell acrylic handles too so you could get one of those separately if you wanted, but I am lucky to have a boyfriend who works in engineering and made me one up at work 🙂 Good luck with everything x

      • November 2, 2011 1:45 pm

        Thank you that’s really helpful. Good luck to you too, hopefully Christmas will bring lots of sales for us both 🙂

  2. November 15, 2011 7:11 pm

    bookmarked, my friends will love this

  3. October 25, 2013 5:59 pm

    What sort of shrink plastic have you found is best for printing?

    I’ve been playing with the kind to simply draw on but my husband wants his band logo made into badges and printing it would be a lot easier!

    • October 26, 2013 9:21 am

      You can get shrink plastic specifically designed for ink jet printers so you’d need to get some of that. It’s coated to take the ink on both sides and works brilliantly. You can get it from craftycomputerpaper.com I have tried to find other sources, but this seems the best. The only other place I found is slightly cheaper if you need to order in bulk, but is also slightly poorer quality. Remember to varnish it after baking or the colour will run in the rain (or any other form of moisture….hot gig venues potentially!!)

      • October 26, 2013 9:44 am

        Thank you Sally that’s really useful. I hadn’t thought about it possibly running… and yes sweaty gigs could definitely be a problem… though actually on their track record it might be the odd pint getting knocked over too… 🙂

        Do you have any idea what sort of varnish is suitable?

Leave a Reply

