Skip to content

The last month…

May 14, 2011

Hello after a long absence, I have been so super busy lately that BearHands has been rather neglected I’m ashamed to say. But with good cause! I started by new job at Talking Pictures (card design company) in April and it’s been really good fun to go to work and just doodle all day :-). Fitting within the companies style and requirements is a new way of working as well, and a good skill to learn I think.

I’ve also been working on my fairy tale book for Oxford University Press, which was good fun at rough stage, and now I’ve got the feedback from those it’s time to move on to finals – eep! A bit more scary if I’m honest, colour is always more of a challenge. This is a preview of one image at rough stage to give you a taster:

Also last weekend was the Bristol Arts trail which I put a few things in to with a group of friends…I’ll try and find a picture somewhere to put up in the next few days (my camera is lacking a charger at present so I haven’t been able to take pics of anything for a while). It was a really lovey weekend, a bit last minute for me as I wasn’t planning on putting anything in, but took a corner in the end! Thankfully the sun shined for most of the weekend even though rain was forecast, and we had loads of lovely people through. Thanks to Lexi, and Holly to hosting our show, and check out Lexi’s blog for all her beautiful drawings šŸ™‚

And lastly (and the one I’m most excited about at the moment) is my Wow! Gorilla design. It’s Bristol Zoo’s 175th birthday this summer, and one part of their celebrations is the ‘Wow! Gorillas’ project they have set up. They have commissioned around 60 life size Gorilla sculptures to be placed around Bristol city, which will be decorated by local artists and designers. Earlier this year I submitted a couple of designs, and one of them has been chosen! I’m so excited to be taking part, and my Gorilla will be going in the Milenium square which I’m really pleased about. All the designs are sponsored by companies or businesses in Bristol, and Lloyds have chosen mine, so thank you Lloyds!

My design is based on hand drawn text and type, with facts about Bristol on one side, and Gorilla conservation on the other. This is side 1, and I’ll leave side 2 for you imagination until it’s in real life ;-)….there are a few alterations to do before the final design, but it will be pretty much like this. Hope you like and maybe get to see it once it’s been installed in its new home!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 29, 2011 8:26 am

    All things bright and beautiful!! What fun, I had no idea he was like this but he’ll look awesome and be unmissable in the square, so well done that girl!

Leave a Reply

