Skip to content

bear hands at home

February 22, 2011

ok, so apparently iv been doing this whole blogging thing wrong. there was me thinking it had to be all professional – not so!…so….i thought i would just put some other creative stuff iv been doing at home since i don’t currently have anything ‘bear hands’ professional style to offer up.

having said that, these yummy (blowing my own trumpet i know, but they truly are delicious!) ginger snap cookies could make a nice edition to my next bear hand stall don’t you think?
what i really love about baking, (obviously apart from getting to eat what you make!), is that it gives my mind time to wander or completely shut off from whatever’s been bothering me, whether its a craft problem or just a rubbish day. lo-and-behold, half an hour after popping these in the oven, i was sitting on the sofa with a cup of tea and art book feeling re-inspired and full of new ideas. plus i had some delicious hot cookies to much on…perfect!

Also finally got round to re-covering my chair (on the right) which had unfortunately fallen foul of a rather messy 3 year old (my house mates gorgeous little girl Lily). I love adding my own touch to things around my home, and it keeps me being creative if i don’t have time or inspiration for a full project.

I picked this chair up from the street – someone had dumped it from their house clearance – sanded it down and re-covered it, and voila! good as new and i love it.

the red chair has a rather different story. picked up in a charity shop, i had always planned on painting it, but never quite got round to it. then one day I decided to paint my front door a beautiful vibrant red, which i did and it looked amazing. The next day all hell broke loose and the complaints started flooding in. to cut a long story short, after a couple of weeks of school yard style huffs from neighbours, i had to paint it a pale bluey grey. which is ok, don’t get me wrong, but it certainly isn’t pillar box red. to retaliate i painted my chair with the same paint and left it in full view in our front yard. a small victory but it made me smile šŸ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 2:25 pm

    Loving the pinstripe chair! it always amases me what people throw away… and generally these days replace it with something of lower quality (this is another story)

    There’s nothing more satisfying than giving something an new life ^_^

Leave a Reply

